The Future of a Traveller, the Worries of a Traveller

For those of you who are new to my blog: I am currently in between travels. I don’t know for how long. Thinking big travels, at least three years. And I do not like it one bit. After coming back from my last adventure, I decided I needed to stay in one place for a while, build up some stability. Because when I travel, it doesn’t matter how much I am enjoying the thrill and excitement of all the new experiences, I still worry about money and my future. So I decided to work on that for a bit, by signing a 4-year contract in my home country.

So now I am working on my future and of course, as you probably guessed, I am having a terrible case of the post-travel-blues. To ease my suffering, I read travel blogs. Of people who are doing what I have to be honest about, seems like just a little bit too scary for me. Traveling the world with no plans for what comes after. Young couples that cycle across the world with no end date set. Students who graduate and leave the nest to travel through Asia but after three years still aren’t back. Families that sell their house, buy a boat and sail the seas, home-schooling their kids, earning the bare minimum by taking along the occasional well-earning holidayers.

Am I really the only traveller that worries about the future? Does that make me different from all you adventurers without worries? Does that make me not a real traveller?

I’ll give you some examples of what goes on in my mind, right.

Firstly, I do not own anything except for the things in the apartment I’m currently renting. I’m sure I can figure out a way to get rid of all of it if I were to start travelling again, but then what happens when the money runs out and it is time for me to go home? I have no place to stay, nothing of my own, and rely completely on the goodness of my parents and the hope they will not sell the house to buy a smaller place that does not have a bedroom for me and my partner.

Now suppose miraculously I do find a way to make some money on the road, just enough to stay on the road for a good amount of time and even to come back and start over. I will definitely not be earning enough to both enjoy travel life and save up for for example my retirement. Neither will my home country, since I am not paying taxes there. Same goes for government funded health insurance. Or any other benefits.

What happens if you need to go home for a longer period of time because you need to help out your family, what happens if you or your partner get seriously ill, what happens if you would like to start a family and offer your future kids basic financial security and a stable home to grow up in.

It all kind of comes down to the same issues: how to go “home”, whenever, wherever, whatever “home” may be. How to get just that little bit of stability and ease of mind to know that, once on the road, there is a way back. And if you do decide to settle down in that “back”, or anywhere else, to have a future. Doesn’t it all come down to (no matter how much everyone claims to be on a shoestring budget) having a fair amount of money stacked away, or some regular income of some property or other assets?

Please tell me how you see your future as a traveller! What are your long term worries and how do you deal with them?

Leave a Reply

