Cooking or experimenting: My Stew

Lately I have been talking a fair bit about food. I guess that is still one of my favourite hobbies. So maybe I will start posting some recipes on here! I would like to add another page to my blog for all the recipes, but since I have still not figured out how to add posts to a page that is not the main page, I will put my favourite yums here.

Today: my stew! I would like to give it a name, like Guinness and Apple Stew. But I have to be honest, I tend to change around the ingredients a fair bit and sometimes one flavour is so much stronger than another time, so I’ll just stick to My Stew.

As with any of my recipes, feel free to mix and match. My recipes are always based on a sound basic recipe and then you make it your own with a few spluts of this and a sniff of that. So here’s just one of the many ways to go about it:

MATERIALS

  • Large cooking pot
  • Cutting board
  • Potato skinner
  • Something to stir
  • Yup, this is gonna be easy!
  • (Maybe a can opener for your tomatoes)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1kg of diced beef (or stoofvlees as it is called here)
  • 6 potatoes
  • (maybe 1 or 2 sweet potatoes as well, or to replace to of the normal potatoes depending on how thick you want your sauce to be)
  • 2 or 3 apples
  • 1 can of whole tomatoes. Or if you feel confident, try some fresh ones!
  • 1l of beef stock (I use stock cubes in water, not because it tastes better but just because it is easy)
  • 1 can of Guinness (if you want your stew to taste like Guinness a lot more strong, replace some of the stock by more Guinness, and you can also add a little bit of soda-bicarbonate, because oddly, I find it adds to the Guinness flavour)
  • A bunch of carrots
  • You can also add other veggies, like parsnips, … I like to add peas right at the end to add a bit of colour
  • A few twigs of rosemary (or a leaf or 2 of laurel for the more traditional cooks)
  • Oh yeah, and an onion. Duh.

PREPARATION

  • Skin the carrots, potatoes, apples, and anything else you want to add and cut them into big chunks.
  • Cut the onion into pieces and glaze them.
  • Make sure your fire is piping hot when you add the meat: you just sort of want to scorch it closed on all sides (which means almost constant stirring) so that the blood does not come out anymore. On the inside, the meat will still be close to raw.
  • Now add the fluids: stock, tomatoes, Guinness.
  • Add your veggies. Be careful: anything you add now (except for carrots and large chunks of parsnip) will mostly disintegrate into a perfect thick sauce. If you want your stew to have more chunks and less thick sauce, either don’t cook it for a day or leave some veggies out and put them in only one hour before serving.
  • Now you let it simmer for a day. 3 hours works as well to be honest, but then you will have to boil it a bit harder and use your stirring device to sort of mash up the contents.
  • About two to one hour before serving: add the rosemary or laurel. (Feel free to improvise with other spices and let me know how it goes! I usually like it with only rosemary, but who knows what heavenly combination you come up with.) Don’t forget some pepper.
  • About ten minutes before serving: add peas.
  • Serve with bread and salted butter.

I would love to hear how your version of My Stew turns out, did you add anything else or change anything? Have fun experimenting!

2 thoughts on “Cooking or experimenting: My Stew

    1. Thanks! I really like to experiment with food and I thought, if I share them with all of you, maybe you can give me some great tips or ideas to make them even better 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

