An Experiment: A Book Exchange With Strangers

I’m participating in some sort of book exchange! It’s like all those other exchanges you do on email or social media: you have to send out 1 thing and if all goes well, you will receive 30 instead. So this is what’s going to happen: a friend of mine gave me an address, I will send a book there, and then I have to find 6 people to participate. They will have each have to send a book to my friend, and find 6 people themselves. Those 6 people will then send me a book. Exciting!

To be honest, I’m not sure if it’ll work. I can imagine people might chicken out because of postal costs and stuff. But that might just be why it will work! Before, when emailing through recipes or poetry, I’ve never really done my end of the deal. But now, because it’s a lot less casual, it would be kinda mean not to do so!

So tonight, I’ll be doing some online book shopping (I know it says book ‘exchange’, but there is simply no book in my collection I can part ways with), I already know what I am going to send.¬†Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck. I know, it’s a tiny book, but I believe it’s one everyone should’ve read. Both the story and the writing style are really something special, and I can imagine for some people it might be out of there book-comfort-zone. Which is why the fact that it’s only a small book makes it even more perfect. Even when it’s not your kind of thing, this book has the ability to wow everyone!

So, here’s my weird and odd question: would you like to participate? I know it’s a bit of a stretch because I don’t know you, but I really like this idea of exchanging books with strangers! Let me know in the comments below if you’d be interested and I’ll get in touch with the details.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

