Book Review – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

So obviously I’m a massive Potter-head. (And then I’m talking about the books. I don’t care much for the films. But the books, oh man…) I mean, me and Harry, we grew up together! I remember the books being totally new, no one at school had heard about Harry. I was about 10 years old when I got introduced into the World of Witchcraft and Wizardry. And from that year onwards, every summer, me and my family had a fight about who got to read the new book first. Mom, dad, brother, me. As I grew older, Harry and his friends grew older and his adventures went from exploring his newly found magic to and playing quidditch to defeating Voldemort once and for all.

I’ve read all the books at least 15 times. I’m not exaggerating. I really have. I even got a Harry Potter-themed birthday party after reading the first book. My mom was Professor McGonnagal and my dad professor Snape, and my brother Pieves. My friends all got an invitation for Hogwarts and we spend the whole evening doing magic tricks and brewing potions out of all sorts of brightly coloured soft drinks. Best. Birthday. Party. Ever.

So naturally, this new “book” has been on my mind. I wasn’t sure whether or not to read it. I mean, it’s not really a book. Seeing the play would’ve been better maybe, but who’s got money for that shizzle, right? I’d heard some mixed things from friends about reading the script. From “fun read” to “it’s just not what you want it to be”. So when I finally did give in and started the first page of the script, I tried to read with no expectations. And after finishing the book, all I can say is I have mixed feelings.

harry_potter_and_the_cursed_child_special_rehearsal_edition_book_cover

First of all, let’s not forget, it is just a theatre script, not a book. And that means that what I liked most about the books, the magical world it creates and makes you become a part of, it just wasn’t gonna happen. The set directions gave only very basic info as to the location (which still, in theatre terms, seemed pretty complicated to make happen on stage), and your memories as a Potter-head would fill in the gaps. (That way it was quite smartly written, revisiting a lot of old locations and stories.) But because it lacked all of the detail that created this wonderful new world, and our familiar characters had changed so much and new characters were introduced, there just wasn’t enough backstory. You know, the fun-in-the-Hogwarts-hallways scenes, the quidditch games, potions class, Christmas dinners,… Far from crucial to the story, but unmissable in the Potter-world.

At the same time, the story was a fun read. Already quite early on, you were shot into the level of suspense we are used to when reaching the final part of each book. What starts out as a little adventure goes more and more wrong, plot twist here and there, more suspense, turn-the-page-how-is-this-going-to-end. Perfectly readable in just one cozy couch session.

On the one hand, it scratched my Potter itch by reconciling me with my old friends. On the other, it left me wanting more. More Hogwarts. More adventure. More silly Weasleys and smart Grangers and loyal Potters. I think more than anything, this script has shown that us fans aren’t tired of Potter just yet. And we are willing to give anything a shot if it means we get to revisit the good ol’ days of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. Hello 🙂

    I’ve just read your review and every word made me more and more convinced about finally reading the H.P. books. Yes, you understood it right: I never read Harry Potter in my life and I am 25 now.

    I don’t know why I didn’t, I recall I was reading the Ilias and Agatha Christie when J.K.Rowling oublished the first book. I’ve never been one of those cool girls who have tons of friends so I never had a friend who read the books and brought me into the world of witchcraft and Hogwarts.

    My question is: could help me to find an E-Book version of the books? Something you could maybe send/share..?

    I know this is a strange question..so you can always say no and that’s it 🙂

    Have a nice day 🙂

    Vero

    Like

    1. Hiya, nice to hear that you might finally take the leap into the wonderful world of witchcraft and wizardry! If I may suggest: start reading them when your mind needs a break. For example, if you have a week at work or something with a lot of stress, the HP books are perfect to take your mind of it without having to focus to hard like I can imagine you had to when reading the Iliad. Unfortunately, I’m not really into e-books so I can’t really help you there, but I’m sure you can find them at your local library!
      Cheers 🙂 Yolaine

      Like

Leave a Reply

